pg-banner

Ashley B. - February 2015

Ashley, age 36, is living with paraplegia after a spinal procedure. Ashley has a beautiful 8 year old son, Brayden, who has special needs. Ashley wants to get back to taking care of Brayden and driving him wherever he needs to go so NAF provided the funding for Ashley to have a driving evaluation, adaptive driving lessons and installation of hand controls in her vehicle. Ashley's not going to let her wheelchair slow her down and we're part of her fan club!

Adiel R. - February 2015

Adiel, age 10, was referred to NAF by Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children. Adiel lives with spina bifida and his parents had been having trouble covering the copay of $156/month for his catheters. They requested assistance with funding for a 6 month supply of catheters and NAF was honored to provide the help.

Marcus G. - January 2015

Marcus, age 43, was injured in 1990 and uses a power wheelchair. Marcus' mother reached out to NAF because his wheelchair was broken and they couldn't afford to fix it. While it was broken, Marcus moved back into an old chair of his and ended up getting a pressure sore because the chair wasn't the right fit anymore. While Marcus was in the hospital dealing with the pressure sore, NAF repaired his power chair and delivered it to him in Fort Worth.

"I want to thank you for your help and concern. I love you and I thank God for you and NAF for doing this so needed action for Marcus" - Mary, Marcus' mother

Abigail G. - June 2014

We were so honored to help Abigail, age 15, with an amazing new bed. Abby was injured in a car accident in April and she is now living with a C4 spinal cord injury and quadriplegia. The Case Manager taking care of Abby at Baylor Institute for Rehabilitation contacted us to help her family modify their home with ramps. NAF was happy to provide a ramp in Abby's garage to help her enter her home but we were absolutely thrilled to have the opportunity to provide her with a top-of-the-line Hill-Rom hospital bed for her home. The $17,000 bed had been generously donated to NAF and in turn, we were proud to give it to Abby. The bed is a state-of-the-art marvel with weight based pressure redistribution to prevent pressure sores, low chair position for eating and caregiver assistance tools like "turn assist" to help Abby's mother take care of her daily needs. We delivered the 500 pound bed with the assistance of professional movers the day before Abby came home from rehab. Abby's mother, Esmeralda, is pictured here with the bed in their home.

Ronnie P. - May 2014

Ronnie, 29, was injured in a car accident in April. As a result, he is living with a C4 spinal cord injury and quadriplegia. Ronnie needed a specialized rolling shower chair which his insurance would not pay for because "bath aids" are not covered. NAF was proud to provide the chair and hope that it's helping Ronnie and his caregivers with his bathing needs.

Ruben F. - May 2014

Ruben, 75, is living with paraplegia due to a tumor on his spinal cord. His case manager asked NAF to help with putting a ramp on the front of his home. Ruben lives in a very rural area of the DFW Metroplex and it was difficult finding someone who would travel the distance to build the ramp. In this special case, Ruben's son-in-law stepped up and offered to build the ramp if NAF could provide the materials. We were happy to provide the supplies and here is a photo of the ramp they built for Ruben. It looks like it's a cat favorite!

Jamie P. - April 2014

Jamie, 52, is living with paraplegia as a result of a malignant spinal cord tumor at the thoracic level. Jamie's insurance would not pay for her bath aids so NAF was happy to provide her with a padded tub bench as requested by her case manager and occupational therapist. Jamie and her husband live in Rhome, TX and we hope that our assistance is making bathing time a little easier for everyone.

Andrew S. - October 2013

Andrew, 21, had a diving accident on July 4th and is living with tetraplegia. He needed a power wheelchair but his insurance had a maximum payout for durable medical equipment that was immediately used up by purchasing other equipment that he needed. NAF had just received a Permobil C300 power wheelchair as a donation (a value of $29,000) and it was brought directly to Andrew for him to use in rehab. The timing couldn't have been any better. We're so glad to see Andrew's handsome smile and are honored to be a part of his recovery.

Jerome G. - September 2013

Jerome, 29, had a mountain bike accident in July of this year. He suffered multiple injuries including a T11 burst fracture. Jerome lives in Dallas and was unable to access the front or back of his home due to stairs. NAF was proud to provide the ramps that were needed to grant him access.

Alvin P. - September 2013

Alvin, 74, was hit by a car while riding his bicycle. He sustained multi-level thoracic compression fractures and is now living with paraplegia. Alvin could not get in and out of his home due to stairs so NAF was happy to provide exterior ramps on his home.

Stephanie H. - August 2013

Stephanie, 25, has recurrent transverse myelitis and is now living with T6 paraplegia. Stephanie lives at home with her mother in a two story house and all bedrooms are upstairs. NAF was honored to provide Stephanie with a chair lift on their stairway that would take her from the first floor to the second floor bedrooms.

Patricia W. - August 2013

Patricia, 51, fell from her horse and sustained a spinal cord injury to her C1-2 & C6-7 vertebrae. Patti needed a specialized rolling shower chair so that she could bathe. NAF was honored to provide her with the chair and her niece sent us these photos of Patti. Look at that beautiful smile! Her niece, Sarah, sent us a message that said:

Thank you so much again, words can not describe how thankful we are"

Richard M. - May 2013

Richard, 41, is living with T4 paraplegia after having surgery on his congenital lumbar, thoracic and cervical stenosis. Richards home was on a hill and was multiple levels inside. NAF was able to provide extensive outdoor ramps and interior ramps so that Richard would be able to get in, out and around his home.

Erica G. - May 2013

Erica, 38, was injured 7 years ago in a car accident that left her a paraplegic. The hand controls on her vehicle were old and were becoming dangerous and unpredictable so NAF had new hand controls installed for her. Now she's back out in her community of Hillsboro, TX. This photo shows Erica with her boyfriend, Lynn.

"I just want to thank you once again for the purchase of my hand controls, they are working really well for me." Erica

Vincent L. - April 2013

Vincent, 48, was injured at 16 years old in a gymnastics accident. He has been living with C6-7 quadriplegia for 32 years. Vincent's vehicle had a malfunctioning door and he was unable to pay for the costs to repair the van. NAF was proud to provide the repairs to his vehicle so he could be out and about in the community again.

Douglas W. - April 2013

Douglas, 58, has a variant of Guillian-Barre disease which causes paralysis. After finishing rehab at Baylor Institute for Rehabilitation, his therapists said that he needed a specialized, self propelling shower chair so he could bathe independently. NAF was very happy to provide him with the shower chair and with a standing frame.

Mike S. - February 2013

Mike, 52, was injured in a motorcycle accident in early December, 2012. He sustained a spinal cord injury at the C7 level is is now living with quadriplegia. Mike had insurance but his maximum allowable for Durable Medical Equipment was $2,500. Since Mike is 6' 5", he needed some very specialized equipment that his insurance was not going to pay for. His manual chair alone exceeded $6,000 and he needed a specialized shower chair, standing frame, power wheelchair and hoyer lift to name a few. NAF was honored to provide  Mike with the hoyer lift and specialized shower chair in February.

Bana R. May 2012

Bana, 27 years old, ustained a spinal cord injury in a motor vehicle accident earlier this year. Bana has a 5-year old and 3-year old twins at home. NAF has been privileged to provide home equipment and a rental wheelchair while Bana waits for her permanent wheelchair to be provided.

Tyler B. - May 2012

Tyler, 14 years old, was diagnosed at birth with Spina Bifida. Tyler recently spent 2 1/2 months at Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for treatment of a chronic stage 4 pressure wound. Tyler's doctor prescribed a specialized pressure redistribution mattress for lifetime use, but his parents were unable to afford the expensive mattress. NAF was honored to provide a ROHO Sofflex 2 Mattress System for Tyler.

Clenton W. - April 2012

Meet client Clenton W.'s son! Clenton is age 49 with a wife and a three year old son. Clenton is living with quadriplegia and is also legally blind. Clenton was unable to reach parts of his house as there were different levels and doorways that were too narrow for his wheelchair. NAF built interior ramps and widened doorways to make his whole home accessible. We're so glad to add to a happy household and a lovely family!

Tanner P. - August, 2011

Tanner, 17 years old, was out on a boat this summer and did a back-flip off the side into water that was too shallow. Tanner is paralyzed from the neck down but his therapists feel that he could regain some mobility in his arms if he continues to work towards that goal. His therapists wanted Tanner to have a power wheelchair and a manual wheelchair to help him work at regaining mobility. His insurance would only pay for one wheelchair so his family had them purchase his power chair. NAF assisted Tanner by purchasing a TiLite ZRA manual wheelchair for him to use.

Erica A. - June, 2011

Erica, 21 years old, was involved in a motor vehicle accident which left her living with paraplegia. Erica did not have insurance and wasn't eligible for any support from government sources so NAF helped improve her living conditions by providing her with a Quickie Q7 manual wheelchair.

Nancy P. - July, 2010

Nancy P. and Leah Gardner, Director of Removing Limits Through Technology, UCP

Nancy was the victim of a shooting and is now a spinal cord injured quadriplegic. Nancy was unable to take care of her three children due to her injury and they were relocated to Christ's Haven for Children. Nancy wanted to be able to communicate with her children on a daily basis so NAF provided her with Dragon Naturally Speaking voice recognition software for her computer. Nancy is now able to use her voice to send/read emails and stay connected with her children.

The photo on the right shows Nancy with Leah Gardner, Director of Removing Limits Through Technology at United Cerebral Palsy of North Texas. Leah and UCP have assisted several of NAF's clients with diagnostic testing as well as training in assistive technology. Our thanks go out to Leah and UCP for their amazing support of NAF and our clients.

Milton R. - September, 2009

Milton was diagnosed with a tumor on his spinal cord and recently became confined to a wheelchair. Milton needs to go for dialysis several times a week and his wife was having difficulty getting him out of their home because of their front steps. NAF had a ramp built on the front of Milton's home so that his wife could safely transport him to and from dialysis treatments.

Iram A. - August, 2009

Iram was injured in a robbery when she was shot in the face and the bullet severed her spinal cord. She is now a quadriplegic. Iram's husband asked NAF to help keep Iram connected to her friends and family. NAF responded by providing Iram with Dragon Naturally Speaking voice recognition software for her computer. Iram is now able to use her voice to send emails and stay connected with her friends and family.

Travis D. - August, 2009

Travis is 18 years old and was injured in an automobile accident in December, 2008. The accident left Travis a T11-L3.L1 paraplegic.  He lives with his parents and is able to get around his house and out into his yard, but he was unable to get into his mother's vehicle because it was too high for him to transfer from his wheelchair to the passenger seat.

NAF had his mother's vehicle lowered to enable a transfer from wheelchair to seat. Travis is now able to go anywhere he would like and since his favorite hobby is fishing, we're pretty sure he'll be spending a lot of time at the lake. "Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your help. You have truly made our lives more bearable. Now it will not feel like Travis is a prisoner in our home."

Cheryl D. - Travis' mother

Terri Y. - December, 2008

Terri received a fully adaptive mini-van in December 2008. The van was donated by Gary Coleman in memory of his sister Candace Coleman. The mini-van is equipped with a power ramp, 6-way power seat and hand controls.

Terri was injured in 2002 in an automobile accident. Until she received her van, Terri had been using a car with hand controls. Each time she drove, she had to breakdown her wheelchair and lift the pieces over her to the passenger seat and then reassemble them at her destination. After doing this for  years, Terri tore her shoulder and needed surgery. This ended her driving.

With her new van, Terri can roll inside, transfer to her seat and drive off. Neuro Assistance Foundation was privileged to receive this generous donation from Gary Coleman. He has changed Terri's life immeasurably with his generousity. "I never thought I'd be able to have a van like this. I feel like I have an angel on my shoulder whenever I drive it!

Terri Y. -  recipient of van donated in the name of Candace Coleman

Testimonial Photos